Books

THE SECOND LIFE OF AVA RIVERS

coming August 2018 from Razorbill/ Penguin

 

avarivers_wNewQuote.jpg

An immersive, vignette-style novel about the sudden reappearance of a missing girl and the effect it has on her twin sister and their broken family. The Second Life of Ava Rivers is perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith.

Ava's disappearance was the crack in the Rivers family glacier. I wish I could explain to you how we were before, but I can't, because the before is so filmy and shadowed with the after.

The after is all Vera remembers. When her twin sister, Ava, disappeared one Halloween night, her childhood became a blur of theories, tips, and leads, but never any answers. The case made headlines, shocked Vera's Northern California community, and turned her family into tragic celebrities. 

Now, at eighteen, Vera is counting down the days until she starts her new life at college in Portland, Oregon, far away from the dark cloud she and family have lived under for twelve years. But all that changes when a girl shows up at the local hospital. 

Her name is Ava Rivers and she wants to go home.

Ava's return begins to mend the fractures in the Rivers family. Vera and Ava's estranged older brother returns. Vera reconnects with Max, the sweet, artistic boy from her childhood. Their parents smile again. But the questions remain: Where was Ava all these years? And who is she now?

 

PERDITA

Faith's debut novel PERDITA (Simon Pulse) was published in 2015. It's a spooky contemporary book about girls, ghosts, and madness.

Nice things nicefaces said about it:

"Intimate, fascinating. An edgy, intriguing debut novel of suspense, suspicion, and surprise." --Kirkus Reviews

"Arielle is a sympathetic, likable, and realistic narrator, thanks to Gardner's keen ear for teen dialogue.... An absorbing mystery...that will hold readers' attention throughout." --School Library Journal

"Told in first person, Faith Gardner paints an intense psychological portrait that's fascinating and chilling." --Bustle.com

IT'S ON THE AMAZON and ON THE GOODREADS